Morning Treats

imagesCARLOA0E

I have always loved fruit. It’s tasty and sweet, and good for you. Most of the time, I have struggled with either the expense, or using it before it went bad. Many health conscious people also tell about the benefits of juicing or creating healthy smoothies. While my life isn’t exactly full of healthy foods (as is the case with many less wealthy people–healthy food really does cost more, whether at the store or farmer’s market, unless you’re at a discount store), I have had an interest in exploring smoothies for some time. It just wasn’t something I thought about a lot.

However, a few weeks ago a few coworkers were talking about their smoothie/juicer machines, and that inspired me a bit. While it’s not a makeover of my life and diet, it’s something good that I can do for myself. And after giving it a try, it’s really easy.

There is a very cheap produce place in our town, where you can get large quantities of fruit (no weighing, you have to take whatever’s in the bag, such as the whole 3 lbs of bananas) for a few dollars. So I went out and got bananas and various berries, and promptly froze half, because with smoothies fresh or  frozen doesn’t matter. Then I went to our regular grocer and got a tub of yogurt, and some extra milk. Both of your dairies should be non-or low fat for your smoothies to qualify as “healthy”, btw. Depending on how much fruit you use–a lot!– it should still taste good.

DH, on the other hand, won’t eat most fruits you’d put in a smoothie. He will, however, eat bananas, so I’ve been making banana for him. This week his has blueberry as well, so that’ll give him some extra flavor. I haven’t been making as much for him, he’s not so fond of it. But I’m really enjoying it for now.

So here’s what I do. On Sunday or Monday night, I make a batch of smoothies for the week. I usually thaw any frozen fruits the morning of to give my decrepit old blender a break. For DH, I make a small batch of banana smoothie, and a large batch for myself. It will keep in a jar in the fridge for a week, maybe more. Just keep it refrigerated. Cleanup is also really easy so long as you rinse out your blender right away–everything will rinse right off.

Small Banana Smoothie:

2 bananas, fresh or frozen

1/2 cup low or non-fat yogurt

low or non-fat milk–add a little, and add more if you want it thinner

1 Tbsp honey (optional)

For smaller quantities, you’ll want to keep a spoon or something handy to help move things around so everything gets to the blades at the bottom of the blender. If you’re using vanilla yogurt (it’s often cheaper than plain at my store) you’ll want to skip the honey.

Large Fruit Smoothie

2 cups fruit, fresh or frozen (thawed)

1 cup low or non-fat yogurt

1/2 cup low or non-fat milk

This smoothie tends to be more liquidy, probably because it has a lot more fruit. You can add the honey if you like. I don’t really measure the fruit here, just throw it in the blender. Usually I use 2 bananas, strawberries and/or other berries, and this week I threw in a mango–it made a super yummy smoothie.

So there you have it: a super-easy kitchen project that requires no cooking and few dishes. Be creative and see what you like.

One thought on “Morning Treats

Leave a Reply

