50 Bookish Questions

1. What was the last book you read?

The One and Only Ivan by Katherine Applegate

2. Was it a good one?

Yes

3. What made it good?

The author successfully captures the voices of her main characters–attractions at a zoo mall with comparatively sparse but resonant words.

4. Would you recommend it to other people?

Absolutely.

5. How often do you read?

I usually have to choose between reading and writing, so when I’m not writing.

6. Do you like to read?

Yes

7. What was the last bad book  you read?

I didn’t fish Storm Rider by Akira Yoshimura, it didn’t keep my interest.

8. What made you dislike it?

While the writing was fine, it’s mostly about sailors and a bit dry.

9. Do you wish to be a writer?

I am one.

10. Has any book ever influenced you greatly?

Many books.

11. Do you read fan fiction?

Yes, but I have very high standards regarding both grammar and quality.

12. Do you write fan fiction?

Yes, Harry Potter or a multiverse involving many different continuities.

13. What’s your favorite book?

I’m not sure I can list them all here…

14. What’s your least favorite book?

That I’ve finished? The most recent is probably Saving Fish from Drowning by Amy Tan. That I haven’t finished, Dream Voyager by Thomas Locke.

15. Do you prefer physical books or read on a device?

Physical books. Devices don’t feel the same and the tactile experience is important to me.

16. When did you learn to read?

Before I went to school, but I don’t really remember.

17. What was your favorite book you had to read in school?

I really don’t like a lot of “literature”, but I did enjoy East of Eden, and Twelfth Night.

18. What is your favorite book series?

Um…There are quite a few. Harry Potter, Narnia, Dragonriders of Pern, Lord of the Rings. Protector of the Small. Definitely others.

19. Who is your favorite author?

Anne McCaffrey is definitely up there, J.K. Rowling for Harry Potter, M. M. Kaye for The Ordinary Princess. I like particular things, usually, I don’t know if there’s an author where I’d seek down everything they’d written.

20. What is your favorite genre?

Fantasy.

21. Who is your favorite character in a book series?

That’s a hard one, I think I’ve ready too many books to really know. Of mine, Miara. Let’s go with the favorite series answers here: Harry Potter–Remus Lupin; Dragonriders–Menolly, Moreta, or Ruth, although who doesn’t love the Masterharper.

22. Has a book ever transported you somewhere else?

I thought that was one of the main points of reading stories?

23. What book do you wish had a sequel?

The Darkling Hills by Lori Martin has one, but it’s nowhere to be found (at least in English).

24. Which book do you wish didn’t have a sequel?

Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs

25. How long does it take you to read a book?

It depends, I read a lot of YA stories, so a few days or over a week for a normal novel.

26. Do you like when books become movies?

So long as it’s not bad, yes. I understand they are different mediums and they will be different.

27. Which book was ruined by its movie adaption?

Blood and Chocolate, The Dark is Rising. I’m sure there are countless others.

28. Which movie has done a book justice?

The Lord of The Rings trilogy has probably come the closest.

29. Do you read newspapers?

No.

30. Do you read magazines?

Florist Review

31. Which do you prefer?

Neither.

32. Do you read in bed?

Yes.

33. Do you read while on the toilet?

Yes. I also don’t like it when other people don’t have reading material in there.

34. Do you read in the car?

Yes.

35. Do you read in the bath?

Yes. Especially YA novels. Most of A Series of Unfortunate Events was completed there.

36. Are you a fast reader?

Not super fast.

37. Are you a slow reader?

But not slow, usually.

38. Where is your favorite place to read?

I’ll read a whole lot of places, not really sure there’s a favorite.

39. Is it hard for you to concentrate while you read?

If the TV is on, or somewhere particularly loud. Otherwise I’m usually okay.

40. Do you need a room to be silent while you read?

No.

41. Who gave you your love for reading?

My mother.

42. What book is next on your list to read?

Not sure! I usually pick what I feel like reading at the time and I’m between books now.

43. When did you start to read chapter books?

Early in elementary school.

44. Who is your favorite children’s book author?

Possibly Marguerite Henry for her horse books or the team behind the Serendipity books. However, I try not to differentiate too much when it comes to chapter books.

45. Which author would you most want to interview?

Anne Rice or Tamora Pierce

46. Which author do you think you’d be friends with?

No idea.

47. What books have you reread the most?

The Ordinary Princess

48. Which books to you consider “classics”?

I tend not to like literature, so more along the lines of more accessible/popular books which have become classics.

49. Which books do you think should be taught in every school?

Definitely more fantasy and science fiction, I don’t remember reading any of it in school, and they often require the reader to be more intelligent to keep up with everything going on.

50. Which books should be banned from all schools?

None.

 

Leave a Reply

