Writing Exercise: Border

Border

 

“I don’t understand,” Les said. “What do you mean by ‘called’?”

“It–it’s hard to explain. I just feel it. It’s an astral thing.”

“And it wants you to go back to…to your homeworld? Not your family.” Red asked.

“Yes. But I talked to my sister, a lot of them have felt it to. I’m just not sure I..want to go with them,” she admitted, feeling quite lame. “I…I haven’t seen any of them in a long time and I don’t want to cause problems for them.”

“I don’t think they’d consider a visit a problem, even if you do have an episode,” Les said. “Not if they’re really family. Not if they really care about you.”

“I know, but…” It was the whole reason she’d left all those years ago. “No one’s been there before. No one really knows what it’s like, or why we should go now. We don’t…I don’t know if I can do it on my own,” she finally mumbled.

They both just stared at her a minute.

“It sounds ridiculous, doesn’t it?”

“Maybe to other people, but we know better,” Les said.

“He’s right,” Red said strongly after a few more minutes. “We’ve always supported each other when one of us pushed our boundaries before, and we should continue to do so.”

Leave a Reply

