A Trip to the Asian Market

We went down to the big Asian market in our town today, where we go a few times a hear for lunch and to stock up on some goods and try different snacks. They’ve always had a drink stall. Usually I get a hot plum tea with a plum a the bottom, but they also sell bubble tea, which I’ve never had. Until today.

wp-image-975955471

 

I’m not a fan of tapioca pudding, or tapioca. But I decided it’s about time I tried it out, and got a green tea bubble tea. Turns out, I do like the larger gelatin tapioca used for this. And of course, the not very sweet style of green tea. It’s rather the intensity of green tea ice cream, which I’m a huge fan of. Delicious, and I’ll definitely be getting more of these in the future.

wp-image-454055335

 

 

I had this with lunch, which was shared sushi and dumplings between DH, NavyVet, and me, and then fishcake udon. It’s not a soy egg, but I have a fondness for fish cakes, and always enjoy the chewy texture of udon noddles.

 

Afterward, we shopped at the bakery, and the grocery store. I took pics of both hauls, but alas, seem to have lost the general groceries, and I’m not getting them all out again for a pic. But it included 2 ramen bowls (finally!), Kewpie mayo, chocolate coconut ice cream balls covered in chocolate, and some of our favorite snacks, and a few Mexican sodas to try. Yes, they have a large Mexican section–much larger than our regular grocery store.

 

wp-image-265230811

However, the baked goods include 2 cream buns, a chocolate cream roll, chocolate macaron, and, a slice of layer cake, and a sorghum sandwich cake.

Overall, a successful trip, and we’re now hanging out in the air conditioning, as the temperature went back up today, and looking forward to trying our snacks when there’s room in our bellies.

Leave a Reply

